Possession by the Madeleine.

Madeleines. Patisserie lover? I think so! We should know what we eat, but when I made these little cakes nobody had an inkling as to what the blip they were! I say Madeleine and they say “what-a-lin?” We can’t let this continue, or I can’t. They were tortured, bribed and coerced into learning the art of the madeleine- my role in this? I am the torturer, briber, and coercer – and not necessarily in that order.

IMG_5591

The art of the madeleine is not simply learned, but one bite and it becomes a repetitive affair. They are light but moist, chocolate but oh-not-so-much, indulgent but… yes just indulgent. These little cakes aren’t dunked in heaps of flavour or filled with something or the other, they are simply chocolate. Chocolate that’s not too sharp, not too sweet, but that chocolate that makes you crawl back for just that little bit more.

IMG_5590

IMG_5588

It’s an easy affair; after all, nirvana is hard for anybody to turn down.

Recipe + Method

80g plain flour

25g cocoa powder

½ tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

100g caster sugar

100g unsalted butter

2 large eggs

Cocoa powder, to dust

Sift the flour and cocoa power together along with the baking powder. In another bowl combine the salt and sugar then whisk in the butter and eggs. Add the dry mixture into the wet and continue whisking until it is fully combined. The mixture may need some fridge time to set to better consistency. I left mine for a few hours but it could be left for longer and even prepared to make the next day or so.

The next day(s) (or hours) preheat the oven to 180C (fan assisted), and butter a madeleine mould, divide the mixture evenly, and make sure not to over fill the moulds. I filled mine a little less than ¾ full. Bake for 12-15 minutes. They will appear plump and will bounce back when touched. Once they are cool dust them in cocoa powder.

IMG_5586

25 thoughts on “Possession by the Madeleine.

  1. Dear Charisma,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking it :). I came to yours to have a look and what a lovely find! Your space is totally adorable and you know what? I have been planning to bake Madeleine for last couple of days and I do not have the needed pan. You think yours can be baked in cupcake tray? Any suggested adjustments? Would love to try your recipe!

    Love and have a great day!
    Pooja

    Like

    1. Hello Pooja, thank you for the lovely comment. Whilst many cake recipes are versatile in that sense, I’m not so sure I’d suggest making the madeleines without the right tray; the cupcake trays may alter the texture of the finished product. I myself have never done this- if it’s your only hope then perhaps make half a batch to test. I’d definitely recommend getting a Madeleine tray though

      https://www.amazon.co.uk/Master-Class-Non-Stick-12-Hole-Madeleine/dp/B002XTQDNO

      Good luck! I look forward to your results!

      Like

Leave some sugar

